Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 05-10-2010, 12:59 PM
Orc

Default New Player Experience

First of all, I'm new to EverQuest in general. I was never around for the original game back in 1999, although I've always wanted to play it. About a year ago I heard a nostalgic podcast about someone's experience with the game back in the day and thought it sounded amazing.

I've always been a huge fan of hardcore MMOs. I love the ones that punish you, and help you feel like you're in a real sandbox, not being led along by the hand. The idea of losing all your equipment upon death and all of the other fun quirks of the game sounded very cool to me.

So my mistake was going out and sub-ing to SOE's Live EQ. As you all know, the old-school game experience is gone on the Live servers. This disappointed me, so when I heard about Project 1999 I thought I'd give it a try. I even went out and bought the old Ruins of Kunark Prima Strategy Guide and the Maps of Myrst Atlas on eBay since I love collecting old game documents.

I've only played for a few days, but am having a blast so far. Almost everything seems to be what everyone said it was back in 1999. I do have a few questions though, as I've been doing a lot of research on what the old-school game was like, I'd like to know why those features are not here.

1. Was there an in-game atlas/map in the original EQ? If not, did this come out during Velious (I'm using the Velious UI)? I was under the impression that, since this is emulating the old-school game, it wouldn't have the built-in auto map. This sort of renders the "get heading" skill useless.

2. Is the Velious UI supposed to be completely transparent, or did I do something wrong when installing it? It's just very difficult to read the text on the menus (changing the opacity doesn't do anything).