Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 09-16-2011, 11:37 AM
Sarnak

Default charming puzzle

I have read many of the posts about CHA affecting charming ability. I have many alts among them a 22 druid and 18 enchanter. Back in the spring I bought my enchanter some gear in order to raise his CHA to better charm. I imimediately picked upper guk heart spiders in which to test my new 198 CHA. To briefly summarize the experience, I had very few instances of the charm lasting more than a minute. At first I thought it was conicidence that they broke so soon but after an hour and a couple of deaths and even more chase-aways. I finally gave up. The next day i tried again with one of the 3 frogs just past the spiders thinking that maybe the spiders are more Magic resistant. I got similar results.

Skip ahead to this past Monday. I started playing my then level 20 druid with 75 CHA in OT charming sabertooths. I can normally kill 2 or 3 mobs before running out of mana and hiding to break charm then killing the pet. Sometimes the duration for this was approaching 3 minutes. It has only randomly broke 4 times that I recall in 2 levels of killing this week. All the other times I broke it.

So, the puzzle is why is easier on the druid when CHA is Loads lower? 75 vs 198?

Thanks for your time.
Old 09-16-2011, 11:46 AM
Planar Protector

very scientific data, try charming the same mobs at the same level
Old 09-16-2011, 11:48 AM
Planar Protector

CHA doesn't effect druid or necro charms.

Your chanter's charming will vastly improve as you level, since the mobs you fight at level 18 are much closer to your level than the mobs you fight at level 39+.

Charisma helps, but level difference and the mob's magic resist is the true driver of charm success (or failure) for enchanters.
Old 09-16-2011, 07:39 PM
Kobold

Did you tash the spiders?
Old 09-16-2011, 08:49 PM
Kobold