Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 12-24-2010, 01:00 AM
Planar Protector

Send a message via AIM to Knuckle
Default The name "Knuckle"

Hello!

Some background:

I started playing EQ garagebox in the winter of 2007. It was my first online game of any kind.

Knowing nothing whatsoever about lag and Linkdeath and latency, I chose to go on the most highly populated server, thinking this would be the best way to garner fame and fortune. That server, at that time, was VallonZek/Tallon Zek Legit PVP.

Knowing nothing (again) I chose a monk, and promptly wasted 5 points in Charisma, assuming that I'd be gaining skill ups through battle in stuff like STR and STA anyway.

I wanted the name Knu. Because EQ didn't allow 3 letter names, I got stuck with the name Knuckle.

On VZTZ, after some years of play, Knuckle eventually gained some of that fame and fortune he always wanted. He was an officer in one of the server's top guilds before the Heresy merger (Reviction). He became one of "those people" on the server whom everyone had heard of or seen or hung out with. His reputation was generally spotless, if I may say, and he played a LOT.

I wasted 3 years of my life, over 400 days played, over 700 Alt's and 60 levels, on Knuckle--Master Knuckle (a title I once had to fight for by posting on several of the game's most popular forums after an idiot Guide decided to take away the title, even after I'd had it for about 2 years by that point... I eventually did get it back, with the Guide's apologies). I quit EQ when my guild broke up, after we had lost just too many people... I think it was in 2010.

A part of me wishes my time on EQ had never happened... another part of me will forever and always be Knuckle.

So, when some old pals asked me to come try out Project1999, well, honestly, I jumped at the chance. I've always missed oldschool EQ and I highly doubt any new MMO will ever be as good as EQ was in its prime.