Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 06-01-2014, 12:18 AM
Skeleton

Default New

This is my first time playing since 2002 when I was 7. I played casually on my brother's (an accomplished raider) account, and am just getting back in now with my brother who doesn't have as much time to play now that he has a wife and kids. So while I keep a character (my monk) at his level I was wanting to also roll a solo character. I rolled a wiz and got it to 8 pretty quick but their solo power plus dependency on quad kiting later on makes them someone uninteresting for me. I played a bard to 7 and really liked the class but wanted to save playing a bard for when velious came out for a few reasons. So with that in mind I was hoping for some suggestions for a fairly new player with very limited budget on a class that could get me through content solo (partying when I get the chance) comfortably. If that class or the race needed to play that class is evil maybe add some tips on getting though the game as a KoS character. Thanks for your time.
Old 06-01-2014, 01:16 AM
Kobold

Necromancers are very strong solo. They are evil, however, so you will have to rely on your invisibility to get around. Merchants that deal with them are more sparse as well.

Druids can solo well through a few different methods depending on your tastes, location and risk-aversion. Using charmed animals, quad-kiting, root-and-dot, etc.

Clerics, shamans, magicians, enchanters would be other choices I've heard suggested tho I haven't played them myself.
Old 06-01-2014, 04:08 AM
Skeleton

Yeah, I'm leaning towards Necro right now. Druid seems fun, because I like the idea of dot kiting they also seem fairly versatile in small groups they seem like something I could play.
Old 06-01-2014, 01:28 PM
Fire Giant

iksar necro for the regen if you're willing to play an evil as your first char.