Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 09-25-2013, 12:47 PM
Scrawny Gnoll

Default When did we get so soft?

I started playing on this server a couple months ago, to bring back the feeling of a game I loved so very much. But I can't help but notice, why is it that people are so afraid of dying on this server and exploring new places? I notice it time and time again, people are afraid to go places because they don't want a mass CR, or they are just too scared, or lazy, not familiar enough, or whatever other excuse. All that seems to have been replaced by the basically skillless leveling that goes on in most open zones, all the way up until level 60. Sure it's easier, more consistent xp. But did we all fall in love with this game because getting to 60 was so easy?

What made this game was the fear that you didn't know what was waiting for you around the corner. That if you died, getting your corpse would suck bad, but it wouldn't stop you from going back. You wanted to go back, you wanted to get better, you wanted to show that bitch froglok caster that rooted you and chain nuked you till death that you weren't afraid of it, and that it would be dead soon enough.

It's sad now, people all crowd to the same, no brains easy mode zones. Unrest, Mistmoore, OT, City of Mist, etc. I got caught in the same trap for awhile when I first started, then it suddenly hit me. None of these zones have made me any better at my class than I was at level 1. In fact, I think I was actually better 13 years ago at this game. So I quit my main, and am ready to reroll with a fresh view on leveling.