Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Rants and Flames

Closed Thread

Old 06-19-2010, 04:34 PM
Banned

Default Devs that dont play their own game

I got a little anecdote back from when i worked as a QA for a Montreal game company.

We are working on a FPS game, i test the single player part of it. We wrap it up and we are switched to the multiplayer component of the game. We start playing and at my surprise and fellow testers' for major lols, i can just sit down at the other team's spawnpoint and headshot any player that spawns.

I do this for about 15 minutes and walk over to the guys that were already testing the multiplayer part of it. I say "Hey, so was a bug entered in the DB for that shit?"

And the guy tells me "Yea, they basically told us to stfu about it, we werent devs and we should let the devs dev."

"But.... headshots lol?"

So i enter the bug (everything is called a bug at that place, even if its not technically one) and the devs reply is to flag my bug with "Will not fix".

So whatever. We finish the game, it goes gold. Launch day. A shitstorm hits the forum "WTF HEADSHOTS OMG CAMPING AT SPAWN POINT LALALALAA"

And all the QA guys are laughing their asses off like... toldja.

So we spent the next 5 days working on a patch to fix this loophole with a big grin on our faces and after that devs got a little less uptight about the unwashed masses input into a game they didnt play themselves.
Old 06-19-2010, 04:37 PM
Aviak

Cool story bro
Old 06-19-2010, 04:38 PM
Fire Giant

We had a maintenance guy at my old job that was the same way. Hed tell us how the machine was suppose to run, how it worked, and why something wasnt working...Even tho we knew exactly why and how of everything because...well we ran it every single day and he didnt.