PDA

View Full Version : Culture - troll vs. ogre?

pink grapefruit
09-18-2021, 10:22 PM
Never played as either of these ugly evil races, but the more I troll these forums the more I'm wanting to get back in game. With red basically being a single-player game, shaman seems like the class to play.

Stats don't matter, racials don't matter. How do these two races compare culturally? I know they're sorta allied with the dark elves which is neat. Trolls always seems more cruel and evil, while ogres are just goofy and like to smash things lol.

Obviously iksar are the coolest shaman but I wanna try something I've never done before in this old af game.

thoughts?????

pink grapefruit
09-18-2021, 10:34 PM
how do the cities of grobb and oggok "feel" when your characters have grown up there?

Jimbingym
09-18-2021, 10:44 PM
I think ogres are the better option. Trolls were always just big smelly fat swamp dwellers. Ogres used to be not only one of the most physically strongest races, but also one of the most intelligent and magically powerful races, on par with erudites. They're dumb now because they were cursed along with the other creations of Rallos Zek for raiding the other planes and killing gods. Look up Lore of Norrath on the wiki and go to The Fall of Rallos Zek and His Children if you want to know more. You could make your ogre shaman worship Rallos Zek and RP him as being spared from the curse due to being one of Zek's chosen or something like that. Lots of potential there.

Gustoo
09-18-2021, 11:01 PM
No question ogres have better actual RP potential while trolls are exactly what they are, trolls. If you wanna be a troll they’re your best bet. Ogre culture was once great and is still more peaceful and kind by comparison.

druidbob
09-18-2021, 11:27 PM
Oggok always felt a bit too slapped together. Grobb, while crude, at least has a basic city layout

Baler
09-19-2021, 02:46 AM
Troll is better

Don't even question it, do it.

starkind
09-19-2021, 10:12 AM