PDA

View Full Version : Newb Tips

WolfOfOdin
10-03-2019, 08:31 PM
I plan on playing P99 Green. I never played EQ back in the day as I was busy with UO. I started playing EQ after Luclin. I've played p99 blue. So, does anyone have any newb tips or just general information on what I can expect Vanilla EQ to be like?

Vizax_Xaziv
10-03-2019, 08:35 PM
#1) Roll a Caster or Priest Class!
#2) Do NOT Roll a Hybrid Class!

WolfOfOdin
10-03-2019, 08:48 PM
I was thinking of rolling either a Monk or a Druid tbh.

TheCowSays
10-03-2019, 08:59 PM
Monk will level about 20% shower than your druid.

I also think monks got a big boost in Kunark (dropping Nov2020)
Make some money with your Druid. Twink your monk next fall ;)

ldgo86
10-03-2019, 09:08 PM
For real just play what you want all the negatives are so overblown. Early weeks on Green will be hilarious and fun.

El-Hefe
10-03-2019, 09:46 PM
Either of those options will be a lot of fun. Can’t go wrong.

BlackBellamy
10-03-2019, 10:21 PM
I've played p99 blue...what I can expect Vanilla EQ to be like?

If you played on blue it's going to be pretty much that except you won't be going to all these places that you could before and where you do go is going to be very crowded. You should go Rogue so that everyone will feel sorry for you and you will always get a group and your endgame will be fantastic!

Hoppkins_Wytchfinder
10-04-2019, 05:52 AM
As much as i want to try a rogue i miss having bind and gate too much. SO FUCKING MUCH. Once you have the ability to at least return to bind it's hard to go back..

Jimjam
10-04-2019, 06:01 AM
Don't go overboard on the min max or grind farming, you're playing for fun not a job.

Have fun, if your race/class/deity combo doesn't expediate that you can always roll a fresh toon. Don't be too frivolous with rerolls though; the game can be time consuming and if you want to participate in a wide level of format you will need some amount of persistence with a single toon.