PDA

View Full Version : HELL NO

Vilkata
07-02-2015, 06:32 PM
I am no economics professor, but I feel I can "learn" some people a lesson in how not to go broke in EQ. Say I spend lots of time and thousands of platinum to raise my JC skill so I can make items to sell. One popular item is the platinum fire wedding ring ( 5 ac 55 hps). Now, a bar of platinum costs almost 101pp to buy. I know of no place to farm these so I buy them. The fire opals are dropped, but it would take a long time to get stacks. So I load up a toon with multiples of 550 gold ( 55 plat ) and buy them in the temple of sol ro. 101 + 55 = 156pp.
Now im in the tunnel auctioning these and soandso sends me a tell saying " will you take 300pp for 2?" In my head im doing some sums and realize 156+156=312pp. 312pp>300pp. I then come to the correct answer of "no". Soandso then comes back with "how about 400pp?" This makes me think.312pp<400pp, but considering max JC skill is 250 and the item im selling is over 260, while still small, my chance if random failure is still there. Doesn't seem profitable to risk 156pp per ring just to make 44pp. A couple random fails per stack would really hurt. Therefore, I will stay with 250pp per ring.
If this is unacceptable, then i suggest YOU spend the time and plat to raise your skill. Then YOU can sell rings for 150pp each and teach me a lesson to never mess with you again.

jarshale
07-02-2015, 06:36 PM
It's not really shocking people are too lazy to research base costs for trade skill items. People will always try to get a better deal.

B4EQWASCOOL
07-02-2015, 06:37 PM
Some people don't know that components have a set cost.

Pringles
07-02-2015, 06:41 PM
I sell crap in EC all the time at a loss (or well below market price), because I refuse to spend anymore time in there than I absolutely have to. I despise EC, I'll take /baz anytime.

Vilkata
07-02-2015, 06:49 PM