Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 03-09-2023, 06:26 PM
Skeleton

Default Path from Zone A to Zone D?

As a non-consistent (been in and out the past ~15-20 years) with a terrible memory, is there any web tools that can tell me how to get from Zone A to Zone D?

ideally just entering the 'Start' and 'Destination', providing each zone in turn for the most direct path.
  1. Zone A
  2. Zone B
  3. Zone C
  4. Zone D

Bonus points for faction info/cities you'd have to cross, a map on the page, and other helpful features.

If not, would a tool like this be useful to the community? I would personally love it, but idk if I'm an odd man out here. I'm a software engineer irl, but know very little web dev. I'd be willing to try if there's a little bit of other interest?
Old 03-09-2023, 08:10 PM
Planar Protector

https://wiki.project1999.com/Zone_Connection_World

In theory it would be possible to write an automated tool (it's a variant of a classic programming problem "the traveling salesman"), but I don't think anyone has done so yet ... so the maps I linked above are probably your best bet.

Oh, and if you did want to automate it, I'd be happy to help with the web bits (as a JS dev myself). We even have a JSON zone data file in the wiki (https://wiki.project1999.com/MediaWiki:Zones.js) ... but it doesn't yet have the connections, so someone would need to parse them out of the HTML.

Loramin Frostseer, Oracle of the Tribunal <Anonymous> and Fan of the "Where To Go For XP/For Treasure?" Guides
Anyone can improve the wiki! If you are new to the Blue server, you can improve the wiki to earn a "welcome package" of up to 2k+ platinum! Message me for details.
Old 03-19-2023, 04:31 PM
Skeleton

Ah good comparison, didn’t think about it.

These are great links, ty! I might throw together a quick API this week then, and if I do I’ll ping you to see if you want to throw up a FE for it.
Old 03-21-2023, 01:59 PM
Skeleton

Quote: