Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Old 04-17-2023, 12:00 AM
Scrawny Gnoll

Red face Erenshor - a single player EQ tribute

Hey all,

I grew up with crap internet and a love for EQ, so my nostalgia is probably a little unique. I played solo as much as I was able to, because grouping would just lag me out. For my whole life I've dreamt of trying to make a single player, grind-centric, loot based RPG. These days I'm a father of two, and MMORPGs don't fit into my life for other reasons, but I still love the game style.

Well, finally, I have some Unity3D experience under my belt, and I'm a few months into development on Erenshor - a modernized version of EQ, tuned for single player play. The tuning is done in the way of more powerful player characters, AND simulated players who coexist in the world with you. Who will have their own opinions of you, invite you to raids, and get in your way from time to time. (You can turn them off if you've got serious grinding to do on any given day).

Multiplayer is probably out of my skill level as a programmer and developer, but it will always remain a stretch goal if the game becomes popular.

If you want to follow or learn more I'll check in here, but also here's the steam page https://store.steampowered.com/app/2382520/Erenshor/ - Wishlisting it is free and SO helpful.

There's a discord too: https://discord.gg/9SeHHAJbxm - Join up for screenshots, updates, and a chance to be an early tester once the game's a little more developed.

Want more info for less clicks? Here's a trailer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XITtAxJlZyc
Last edited by ludovician; 04-17-2023 at 12:04 AM..
Old 04-17-2023, 10:26 AM
Sarnak

Clicked the YouTube link. Looks kinda neat! Hope it's a fun project for you along the way!
Old 04-17-2023, 10:48 AM
Scrawny Gnoll

Thank you, it's been a blast so far, if not a bit daunting to build out a whole world with lore and all that fun stuff.
Old 04-17-2023, 11:50 AM
Planar Protector