Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 01-09-2012, 05:34 PM
Sarnak

Default New computer HDD & SSD questions...

I'm putting together a new pc this week and I had two questions.

1) Will I need to wipe a hard drive if I'm moving it from one computer to another? It was on a i7 920 on an evga 1366 board. New computer is an i5 2500k on an asus 1155 z68 board.

Will any problems arise from the OS being installed while using a different setup? Or can I just hook it up and go? It will have the same video card, if it matters.

2) In a few weeks I'll be adding a 120gb SSD to hold the OS and a few applications, everything else will be stored on the HDD. At that time will I need to wipe the HDD? Or can I just install the OS on the SSD and choose to boot from the SSD without clearing the HDD? I've never used multiple internal drives before.

Thanks
Old 01-09-2012, 05:43 PM
Fire Giant

1) No

2) No you won't need to wipe the HDD. Yes, just make sure it is booting from the SSD.
Old 01-09-2012, 05:59 PM
Sarnak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gwence [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
1) No

2) No you won't need to wipe the HDD. Yes, just make sure it is booting from the SSD.
Cool. So in #1 I won't have issues with drivers conflicting from different motherboards?
Old 01-09-2012, 06:10 PM
Banned

Yes and Yes. Yes to both, actually. Don't listen to Gwence.

Microsoft attaches your Windows Authentication code to your motherboard, so if you built that PC with an OEM version you'll have to plead with MS to let you use it again or if you've bought the PC from a manufacturer (OEM version almost certainly) it'll lead to the same result. Always format when swapping your HDD (with your OS on it) or motherboard. The other parts don't require a format and can be swapped freely without consequences other than uninstalling a particular driver.