Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Casters

Old 05-10-2023, 02:58 PM
Aviak

Default Brand New Enchanter

I started playing a Chanter for a number of reasons, one of which being I've never played a caster before.

I've gotten myself to level 16 by power leveling. (Brazier to level 11, Tooth to 16. See my post in General about my woes with that tooth.) Now I'm trying to actually learn the class, specifically charm killing.

I'm in NRo charming dervish cutthroats and generally succeeding. (I haven't died yet! I know I will, but not yet.) However, I go through my entire bar of mana killing one camp. Because I've twinked the chanter with maybe 3k of gear, medding takes quite a while. (Even with Breeze.)

What am I doing wrong? I know I need to get 51% of the damage per mob, so I'm hitting each with Sanity Warp twice. That's a big mana hog, though.

I've read (and keep open) Xornn's guide, but am still having a tough time figuring this out on my own.

Cheers.
Old 05-10-2023, 03:13 PM
Fire Giant

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spaerhawk [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I started playing a Chanter for a number of reasons, one of which being I've never played a caster before.

I've gotten myself to level 16 by power leveling. (Brazier to level 11, Tooth to 16. See my post in General about my woes with that tooth.) Now I'm trying to actually learn the class, specifically charm killing.

I'm in NRo charming dervish cutthroats and generally succeeding. (I haven't died yet! I know I will, but not yet.) However, I go through my entire bar of mana killing one camp. Because I've twinked the chanter with maybe 3k of gear, medding takes quite a while. (Even with Breeze.)

What am I doing wrong? I know I need to get 51% of the damage per mob, so I'm hitting each with Sanity Warp twice. That's a big mana hog, though.

I've read (and keep open) Xornn's guide, but am still having a tough time figuring this out on my own.

Cheers.