Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2017, 10:07 PM
derjen derjen is offline
Orc


Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 45
Default eqclient.ini missing

I'm coming back to P99 after a year layoff. I'm installing on my new machine, so I'm starting from scratch. All is good, except I'd like to play fullscreen.

I found the FAQ, which reference modifying the eqclient.ini file, but mine is missing.

Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-29-2017, 10:34 PM
markcosmin markcosmin is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 79
Default

I can't get mine either. I've gone through the FAQ and even the windows 7 hidden files issue. I'm trying to get zliz to work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-30-2017, 12:01 PM
Triiz Triiz is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 578
Default

Pretty sure if your EQclient.ini is missing the game wont work at all, full screen or not. If your game is actually booting up you're just overlooking the .ini, and you can manually force fullscreen in game under Alt+O>Display tab>Switch to fullscreen button. Try searching your EQ folder with Ctrl+F for just "eqclient" without the .ini

Another option, which is what I use is WindowedBorderlessGaming, it's free and it forces fullscreen but your computer still treats the game as windowed so you can tab out flawlessly and also run programs that require Windowed mode like GINA.

When I first started using WindowedBorderlessGaming my mouse was clicking like a half inch off from where I was actually pointing. Apparently it only happens to a small percent of people that use WBG but if you try WBG and are one of those people with the offset mouse, there's another program called DXWND that runs as part of WindowedBorderlessGaming you run simultaneously and it fixes the mouse issue. If you go the WBG route and have problems, send me a PM I'll try to help.

A third option is the free version of WinEQ2. I personally can't stand WinEQ2, but a lot of people like it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-30-2017, 01:25 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 2,045
Default

eqclient.ini is automatically generated the first time you successfully launch eqgame.exe
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-30-2017, 06:58 PM
Maschenny Maschenny is offline
Sarnak

Maschenny's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 228
Default

C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\P rogram Files (x86)\Sony\EverQuest\eqclient.ini

Sometimes these folders can be hidden too. But, that is where your log files and eqclient.ini are.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-30-2017, 07:09 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 2,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
eqclient.ini is automatically generated the first time you successfully launch eqgame.exe
To be less cryptic: your eqclient.ini probably doesn't exist because you haven't launched EQ yet. So it's a good thing that you can't find it, because that means you're starting with fresh settings upon initial launch of eqgame.exe - in the case that you download Titanium and end up with someone else's eqclient.ini, you'll probably want to delete it to let the client generate a fresh one for your machine's specs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-11-2024, 02:30 AM
freefall freefall is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Jul 2024
Posts: 3
Default

I dont have an eqclient.ini and I have been playing. Not sue how but it is not there.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-11-2024, 04:28 PM
Kavious Kavious is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,328
Default

If you have installed EQ in Program Files it does not have write permissions to create any files in its own folder. It then places files in the AppData directory. Maschenny posted the path a few posts up

If you move the EQ Folder out of program files to something like C:\EverQuest then it can write files to its folder. ini files, logs, screenshots etc all run into this problem
__________________
Kav
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.