Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2022, 12:56 PM
Korcewynd Korcewynd is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 20
Default Developer Input - CPU Limit Cutoff

After having recently built up a new computer I started running into the 1017 Error. Its a regular and recurring issue for people here. It effects mostly project 1999 servers. It kicks you after server select back to login.

If I reboot and in my BIOS downclock my processor I can then load into windows and get it so that I can login to Project1999. Currently I have been able to login at 4Ghz clock. 4.5 Ghz it will fail. Do the Server Admins or Developers know exactly where that cutoff is? Is it 4.111 etc.

Can this be changed or boosted?

One thought I have had (and not had time to test yet) Is to try downclocking 1 core and then setting the affinity of the eqgame to that process (right now its just set to 1)

So there is a question around that? How are you detecting CPU speed? Other servers allow you to login but the animation is all jacked even using wineq2. (obviously a problem there with the faster processors)

Do you detect the core speed? Or whatever the overall processor is reporting? If I downclock a single core and set affinity would that theoretically work or would I just end up beating my head against a brick wall.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-01-2022, 08:17 PM
Valrok Valrok is offline
Aviak

Valrok's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 99
Default

I currently have my processor (i9 12900k) working fine with P99 and the EQEmu login server selects.

When I get home I will see what it is currently running at but I have never downclocked it.

Also, are you getting booted back to login when you click on other servers as well (just for testing)?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2022, 03:35 PM
Korcewynd Korcewynd is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 20
Default

I only have gotten kicked back to login on p99 server (Blue) but not on any of the other 2 I tried. (I could get there names) Thats not to say that the game was playable. The ani mations were so sped up it looked like someone had hit the fast forward button.

According to this page:
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us...-5-20-ghz.html

Your clock speed isnt over 4Ghz but the boot clock can go to 5.2Ghz... something tells me Everquest isnt causing your PC to feel like it needs to boost haha.

https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/amd-ryzen-9-7900x
The base clock is sitting at 4.7Ghz and boosting to 5.6Ghz. (again probably has nothing to do with the boost clock.)

I do have a couple of things left to play with.

- Can I downclock just a single core and set Everquest to run on that core. (we can set the affinity yes, but it wont do us any good if the server is checking clock speed at login and kicking you based on that)

- What is the highest I can push it. I just know that limit is somewhere between 4 and 4.5 right now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2023, 04:23 PM
arc arc is offline
Aviak

arc's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valrok [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I currently have my processor (i9 12900k) working fine with P99 and the EQEmu login server selects.

When I get home I will see what it is currently running at but I have never downclocked it.

Also, are you getting booted back to login when you click on other servers as well (just for testing)?
I've heard that the 1017 errors are alot more common on AMD chips

I also have an intel setup (10900k) and run P99 with no issues.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-29-2023, 09:55 PM
corymaloy corymaloy is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Yeah, that's true. But that doesnt help. Lol
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-29-2023, 10:22 PM
Innoeus Innoeus is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corymaloy [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Yeah, that's true. But that doesnt help. Lol
Well, it could help the devs, perhaps (if it were newer than a 10900K).

If these 12th and 13th gen Intel chips are running at similar MHZ and are OK, it's not the raw speed alone.

It would be helpful if this were acknowledged enough to have them look at some logs and see why the backend thinks these connections were trickery and denied.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-04-2023, 01:39 PM
Proxin Proxin is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: May 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 8
Default

I had this problem with my 7950X, and was able to workaround it by locking the frequency in bios to 4.2 GHz (thanks to this thread). I figured I'd live with it for a while, and switch back to Intel the next time I refreshed my build.

Fast forward about a year, I noticed the 7800X3D has a base frequency of 4.2GHz. And with a decent deal going on at Amazon for the processor, I decided to give it a try. With bios settings all reset to defaults, the 7800X3D has no problem with P99.

So, this appears to be something related to the base frequency set in bios, whether manual override or hardware default. Unfortunately, for the 7950X (factory base frequency 4.5GHz), the way you have to override that in bios locks you into a lower 4.2GHz frequency, disabling the hardware boost behavior. If you want to boost above that, you have to do a software workaround in Windows using Ryzen Master to re-enable boosting after boot-up. However, with the 7800X3D having a base frequency of 4.2GHz from the factory, the factory boost works without any workarounds, and P99 doesn't have any issues.

Hope this helps someone in the future as they're deciding on components for a new PC build.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-02-2022, 03:36 PM
Korcewynd Korcewynd is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 20
Default

Additionally... Boost might not matter. If its simply a check when you connect.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-14-2022, 12:05 AM
atomos atomos is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 16
Default

See this thread for some rather interesting troubleshooting I did on the matter.

https://www.project1999.com/forums/s...d.php?t=409461

Have not done in-game testing yet to see if there are those animation issues you mentioned.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-09-2022, 12:31 AM
Korcewynd Korcewynd is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 20
Default

So I did find out that running the game in a VM Workstation VM and using the setting

timetracker.apparentHz = "4000000000"

in your vmx file (sets it to 4Ghz) allows you to login to Project99. It does not actually limit the speed of your vm. (I tried to find something that did that but its only available on ESX / baremetal hypervisors.)

It is not ideal. I still get the same regular crashes switching characters that I think everyone experiences where you have to close out the client completely. I also have a new bug where some textures do not load up until you zone again. That can be annoying. Also had a couple of random freezes.

At least I dont have to gimp the new CPU speed by 1-2 Ghz just to play EQ though. Its also obvious that the server can handle the VM running at that speed. SO maybe a patch could fix this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.