| loramin |
03-26-2020 10:44 AM |
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artaenc
(Post 3102272)
Ahh ya, I didn't fail. But mez definitely counts as aggro though right?
|
There's two things to consider, the "letter of the law", and the practice. Here on P99, practice > letter, and I suspect that's very relevant in cases like that.
The written rules ie. the Play Nice Policies are extremely vague. Even the collection of camp rulings I've compiled in the wiki only cover a tiny fraction of possible cases ... and the staff aren't even truly bound by them.
Really, they're not even bound by the PnP. Don't believe me? Get in a fight with a GM over something in the PnP: no matter how certain you are that, based on the document, you're in the right ... you will still be suspended/banned anyways ;)
So my point is, we can theorycraft in the forum all we want, but the real question here is "in a situation where Bob and I are both racing for a hill giant/seafury cyclops/whatever, when I cast mez on the mob (first) and then Bob hits it and starts killing it, will the GM suspend Bob?"
I just don't see it: Bob had no way of knowing you mezzed the mob, unless it was moving and suddenly stopped. In that way it's a bit like root, except with root, even if Bob didn't notice it stopping initially, he certainly would when he tried to pull the mob back and it didn't follow. But with Mez, the mob would act identically (from Bob's perspective) as if you'd never landed anything.
What I would see happening in a case like that is the GM telling both people to chill, and maybe telling you to use a different spell besides mez to pull. I don't think Bob would be in trouble, unless there was more to the story ... but until this actually happens and a GM rules, there's truly no way to know for sure.
|