PDA

View Full Version : Newb Bard

Nuncio
01-17-2013, 07:49 AM
So I'm a newb at playing a bard, never had before.

I've been trying to kite, and I just don't get it. My ae dot doesn't do anything, because I'm too fast with selos to hit em with it, they are always just out of range. If I turn around backwards to run to be slow enough, they then hit me.

Tips, pls.

quido
01-17-2013, 07:53 AM
What level are you? The level 2 AE has an extremely short range, but the level 18 AE has like double the range - makes it a lot easier.

I like to just tag stuff with drum+selos and then to kill it I do selos without drum and instead just keep up whatever instrument applies to whatever AE song you're using. A lot of people run small circles to stay close to their pulls, but I personally like to just run around in an open/flat field and intermittently joust close to the pack and hit em with the AE.

Nuncio
01-17-2013, 07:56 AM
Only level 15. Ill keep leveling the same way I have until 18, then. Appreciate the help!

abazaba
01-17-2013, 10:32 AM
IIRC lvl 18 AOE dot is 35 range and lvl 2 AOE dot is 30 range. If you are just starting to learn bard AE, those 5 units make a world of difference. At 15 selo's does 30% run speed(sleo's=15+lvl .. 65% max) without a drum which is plenty fast. If you are mouse turning, being only slightly faster than mobs works best because: low speed = larger circles = less mouse movement = less mouse stutter/jump when someone enters the zone. At higher lvls you can hit walk and selo's to get the right speed.

For mouse turning:
Lets say you want to turn left for the circle. Hold Rmouse button, hold W and D, tap T(hotkey for /tell), release W and D. This locks down strafe running and lets you twist easily.

Make sure you have good connection (not wireless) with low ping. If you have >=4gig ram, make a ramdisk with the trimmed down EQ folder http://www.project1999.org/forums/showthread.php?t=7186.

Good luck and try not to hog all the mobs ;)

Nuncio