PDA

View Full Version : necros, what do you spell bars look like?

Anderdale
11-13-2012, 05:30 PM
I am new to the necro class and trying to figure out what spells to use because there is only so much room on my spell bar.

Right now i have the heat blood line, lifespike, leach dot line, darkness. At 16 i get the debuff dot. so that is 5 dots, do you use all of these? That leaves a slot for FD, Pet spell, and gate? i figure once i get FD i will replace gate with it. Anyways enough blabbering, can you guys share you spells bars and maybe how your hot bar looks? thanks!

Bubbles
11-13-2012, 07:13 PM
Necro (along with enchanter) has about 16 spells it commonly uses situationally... and believe me when i tell you i miss the 'saved spell slot' days.

You'll find at lower levels that none of your DOTs (till 29 really) are going to be very satisfying in comparison to the ward undead line vs. undead mobs.

You'll find your disease based DOTs get resisted too much with too little in return dmgwise to be worth the mana it costs to cast them.

You'll find very quickly that Leach is utterly pointless and a waste of one of your 3 free casts between the time fear sticks and it automatically unsticks (when it goes the full duration).

Regardless, fighting undead you'll be nuking more than dotting, and against live mobs you'll probably find yourself lifetapping DD more than anything simply for the lack of spell resists.. The Heat Blood line is the only spell line that reliably sticks, and between that and darkness, it isnt enough dmg to take 51% from the pet, so you end up needing to race the pet and putting up Lifetap or Ward DD to ensure full xp per kill.