PDA

View Full Version : noob advice

Reprobate
09-11-2012, 11:00 AM
What is a good solo pve class that is also decent in pvp? I don't really want to play a tank. I played a druid in vanguard and they were kinda op in pvp and ok in pve settings. Does the druid in everquest play anything similar to a vg druid?
I also enjoy playing rogue type classes but I dont have much experience in pvping with them.

After trying some of the new games i think im going to try eq to get my pvp fix. I'm a total noob to eq but played vanguard for several years now so im hoping they play similar.

SamwiseBanned
09-11-2012, 11:08 AM
hmm first i would look through the wiki and read each class description and maybe take a look at skills and abilities.

wiki.project1999.org

that being said Druid is a good class to start with. They can solo/group and also one of two classes who can port around so you can check Norrath out. i could write a whole novel on druids but a lot of stuff you need to see for yourself to understand.

Shrubwise
09-11-2012, 11:08 AM
Necromancer. Play a Necromancer.

mindsculptor
09-11-2012, 11:21 AM
Basically all the casters have decent solo ability and melee do not, but p99 wiki has alot of good info as samwise mentioned. Druids are great soloers ability to root/snare with DoTs and nukes or to use AE nukes to quad kite. They are pretty mediocre group members and usually serve as either a bad cleric or a bad wizard in a group, but on occasion their versatility can filll a nice gap in a group since they can snare, root, heal, nuke, buff, and port/evac(if the group wants to go somewhere else or escape a bad pull). PvP wise druids have alot of upside: spells that are hard to resist, track, ports, dots to counter zone dancing, pretty good nukes that are not magic based, root/snare(although these are resisted easily by someone with decent mr), but once you get going I am sure some real druids can give you better advice on pvping as a druid.