PDA

View Full Version : A different sort of development mentality

Ikonoclastia
02-08-2012, 07:45 AM
Today I went out and bought a brand new pc, a year ago my motherboard blew up and due to a lack of decent online games I didnt feel it necessary to get a new pc as I have a laptop for non-game related computing. Last week I started playing EQ1, a 12 year old, horrid graphics (by todays standards) game via project1999.

It strikes me as strange that such an old game would attract the approximately 400 to 900 I see online every day, strange that of all the offerings available online with their cutting edge graphics, instances, ease of play, fast leveling and microtransactions an old game like eq1 would be the trigger to make me go out and buy a 1k+ pc for gaming.

I think its pretty unlikely Im that out of the ordinary which makes me ask the following questions - why are developers not picking up on the elements of eq1 that made eq as addictive to some players (like me) as a high quality gram of coke? Why are developers so obsessed with the wow model. While its easy to see the attraction of 11 million casual players, its a lot harder to develop a game to poach some of those players from wow than it is to attract players who are not as easily pleased with content that wow offers anf who are looking around for something more challenging.

So why are there no EQ1 type games out there?

Ikonoclastia
02-08-2012, 08:01 AM
As an after thought some of the elements which I find irristable in EQ 1:

1 - difficulty of leveling
2 - corpse runs
3 - unpredictability of spawns
4 - social aspects and conflict of non-instanced mobs and dungeons
5 - complexity of quests / spawns
6 - uniqueness of class abilities
7 - trains
8 - Sleeper
9 - long spawn mobs
10. Exp loss