PDA

View Full Version : Question about Titanium Client and it's issues

Quiksilver
11-19-2011, 01:33 PM
Maybe I won't be intelligent enough to understand how it all works but does someone mind explaining this to me please?...

So Titanium is the client that this server uses... but why not load up classic $9.99 version of Everquest off of an old CD or something? Then make the changes needed as they are found on Patch Archive website? Or compare the file libraries on the original CD with a version of EQ released at a later date (like with Trilogy or Platinum Box sets). Unless the original Classic CD was never modified as there was already an automated patching system in place to do it for them?

I know to someone with vast knowledge of coding might see this as a total newb question but I am only asking because I want to try to help out the P99 team with some research and I'd like to know the basics of what we are dealing with here.

Cyclone
11-19-2011, 02:43 PM
Not totally understanding the question here.

2 Questions come to mind that would fit your post:

Why do they not host a full client with their changes already in place for a download with a custom install program?

Why do they not host a custom Classic/Kunark/Velious only client with a custom install program and current updates for this server?

Why do we not support the original Classic disk that was brought out when the game first became live?

If your questions center around the first 2, then the simple answer to this is they legally cannot do this. They can only legally run the game on their custom server code, allow connections from Everquest client, and make changes here and there but hosting the client in any way could allow SOE to target the project even though they do not make any profit.