PDA

View Full Version : Something isnt right

Nomura
04-06-2010, 12:03 AM
Greetings everyone!

Ever since I started playing here I have had the most awful dual core lag. At least I think/am told that is what it is. I play on a laptop with Vista:o When I play the game, aside from zoning super slow, which I dont think is really fixable, my lag is really focused on my running.

Regularly, my speed is just that slightly faster than something that is snared. I cant tell you how many times this has gotten me killed because I either cant escape, or make to just before a zone. Which makes travelling to groups, or anywhere very time consuming. (Thanks to those with the patience for me to arrive!) Then, every once in a while the speed will reset to normal, but maybe only for about 20 seconds.

Fixes, I have asked many friends/guildies for ides on what to do, since I know next to nothing about computers. One fix that I got was to run cmd promt, and lead to the path of my eq folder c:\program files\sony\everquest , and then to input the follow to I think set the affinity imagecfg -a 0x1 eqgame.exe Sometimes, this worked, but to an opposite extreme. I would mostly run normal and then everything would speed up hyper fast and then calm down agian. But that doesnt seem to be working anymore.

Another fix that didnt word, was crt alt dlt-ing and setting the processor that way.

I have tried to find a fix on the boards and following the links to eqemu, but nothing seems to work. I downloaded WEQ2 or whatever that program is, but it wont run, I always get some type of error.

Also, I read something on here about disabling one of the cores, through run msconfig, and I tried that as well with no luck. I might have worked for a while actually, but eventually during play it returned to snare speed.

I have an AMD Turion 64x2 Mobile Tech processor thing, I even tried to download drivers for it, but then I am not sure what to do with them.