PDA

View Full Version : Game Mechanics: Sneak skill failure

Vohl
10-08-2011, 02:13 PM
Monk Sneak has always worked 100% upon reaching 100 Skill on the live servers. On Red99, however, skill still fails frequently, even with a skill of 113.

Edit: Relevant link:

http://www.monkly-business.net/forums/showthread.php?t=8889&highlight=sneak

From a post dated 09-25-2000:
"Sneak does cap at 113 (throwing was raised to 200), but once sneak hit master, I do not recall it failing on me. My primary monk has a sneak of 106 or 107 and it always works, just like mend...woohoo."

jilena
10-11-2011, 05:38 PM
If it's failing frequently I would say that it should be reviewed to fail less. I don't feel like that guy's post that he doesn't remember it failing is concrete proof that it's a 100% chance.

I have no personal experience with this skill but I could have sworn all hide/sneak had some tiny chance to fail. Any rogues want to comment on this? If sneak worked 100% over 100 for monks I would assume the same would apply to rogues. Rogean played a rogue on live, maybe he can shed some light.

Vohl
10-12-2011, 12:07 PM
I had extensive experience with Monk Sneak on Brell Serilis. Like Mend, it never failed upon reaching skill 100. Monks don't get Hide; Rogue skills may well have worked differently. FDing behind a KoS mob, hitting Sneak, and standing up always worked.

By comparison, it fails about 1 in 6 or 7 times on Red99. This is clearly different than my experience, and that of the poster on monkly-business. In short, the failure rate needs to be adjusted to fail less than once every ten years of play once it hits 100.

Lord Adamyte
11-02-2011, 02:37 PM
I still get fails quite frequently on P99 as well, so probably isn't Red99 specific.

Vohl
12-09-2011, 06:37 PM
Yeah, this could probably be moved to the standard Bugs forum.