PDA

View Full Version : Classic PvP-Server

freakyuno
07-28-2011, 02:25 PM
Ok, I started playing on Secrets new TZVZ server a few weeks ago, and realized how much I love world pvp in EQ, and it brought back a lot fo memories from back in my RZ days.

That being said, Secrets server has lots of problems. Thoes of us who have played there know what they are, no reason for me to go into a list. I know Secrets is a brilliant fellow, and a great coder and all, but quite absent after putting the new server up.

I have the ability, resources (hardware), and c++ knowledge to run my own server, and I'm pretty sure I'm tired of waiting for Secrets to fix his box, or for P99 devs to give us a Red box (if they do, or dont, intend to isnt the question).

What I need is this:
1.) A couple GM's that are willing to dedicate a couple (5 - 6) hours a week to handle the standard stuff. Monitoring playerbase (for hax, we arent babysitters), unsticking corpses, unbugging quests...etc

2.) Another developer who's at least partially familiar with the EQEmu code base and a pretty sharp c++ developer.

3.) An understanding from the player base, that I can put a server up in the next 3 or 4 days, and patch it every couple of nights as we go forward - but it's not going to start bug free or hacker free, but eventually it'd be at a controllable limit.

Any interest, or are we all sold on Secrets, and or, waiting for R99?

Bardalicious
07-28-2011, 02:59 PM
Anyone that hosts a PVP box and devotes time and effort into updates / fixes and policing the server of hax deserves a debt of gratitude. I hope it works out for you.