PDA

View Full Version : Necro race choice for plat farming

Lumio
03-23-2021, 02:50 PM
Hey all, this community has been great! I want to first say that I've read loads and loads of threads on this but haven't found this info in any of the threads of guides so I thought I would ask here.

I am new to eq, I have a 21druid at the moment, I don't have much time to play but I want to roll a necro for fun and whats fun for me is plat farming.

What race should I choose, to make the most money, with little play time invested?

Here is where my mind is at and why I need your help tipping the scales so I can make a decision:

Option 1: Iskar
- Pro: Min-maxy, regen, good starting area
- Con: Hard banking/selling life

Option 2: Dark elf
Pro: Access to farming Reaper of the Dead (since I don't play much lvl 20-30 is very doable), somewhat easier time selling/banking

Option 3: Erudit
Pro: Can just stick around Painel and kill guards, very chill

---

Toxigen
03-23-2021, 02:57 PM
if you arent iksar you've made a big mistake

Jimjam
03-23-2021, 03:02 PM
Gnome cos they have least scruples and are greediest.

loramin
03-23-2021, 03:16 PM
Gnome cos they have least scruples and are greediest.

Less than Iksar? :eek:

But seriously OP, the game is designed to let you earn much more plat (per real-life-hour you spend) when you are higher level, so by farming plat at low levels you're working against it. If you don't believe me, just look at the https://wiki.project1999.com/Treasure_Hunting_Guide

That being said, I don't think your racial choice really matters: with 50 plat (less if you tip cheaply) you can get a port anywhere in the world, so starting zones don't matter. I guess I'd either make a Dark Elf, if you're making him purely to do that Thex Mallet quest repeatedly, or else an Iksar, if you just want the best general purpose farmer.