PDA

View Full Version : Which is better raw DPS?

Malykor
03-04-2021, 08:04 PM
For you math nerds.... mathematically, which is better for raw DPS...
Level 40 monk
Addy Club 15/25 main-hand : SoS 17/28 off-hand
or
IFS 38/40 two-hand

This might have too many variants to break down mathematically..... if so.... I would still like everyone's opinion.

Master Roshi
03-04-2021, 08:31 PM
without any proof or math, I want to say IFS

Arvan
03-04-2021, 08:37 PM
Use something like gamparse to display your DPS and then you dont need to know any math

Malykor
03-04-2021, 08:47 PM
Use something like gamparse to display your DPS and then you dont need to know any math

I've been dying to do this, but I'm not computer savvy in the least.

DeathsSilkyMist
03-04-2021, 09:19 PM
I am not a Monk expert by any means, but I would guess IFS at your level. My reasoning is simply that dual wield is a skill, and that means lower skill = less offhand attacks. So unless level 40+ has the skill range at which dual wield starts really taking off, you should get better use out of a 2h weapon. Less ripostes from enemies too.

Pint
03-04-2021, 11:10 PM
IFS is better assuming you're fighting things your own level

Jibartik
03-04-2021, 11:46 PM
IFS is better assuming you're fighting things your own level

Why own level give advantage to the IFS over the duel wield?

Vaarsuvius
03-05-2021, 02:30 AM
Fewer swings so fewer miss chances?

Also if I'm not mistaken on targets that are close to (or lower than) your level your max hits tend to be higher?

Keebz
03-05-2021, 03:17 PM
Dual wield combo is slightly more raw dps according to my formulas, but if you're tanking/soloing you should use the IFS—2h are almost always preferable when trading ripostes is involved.

(EDIT: my damage bonus code may be off. If someone tells me what the damage bonus for a 40 delay weapon at lvl 40 is right now on green, I can run the numbers again)

plzrelax
03-05-2021, 05:34 PM