PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Starting as Enchanter

Qohleth
04-17-2017, 11:26 AM
So I'm new to p1999 and wanted to roll an Enchanter. Had one back in classic. What would be the best race to go solo? And any advice for the first levels?

I'm thinking Gnome and then soloing until 4 before heading to FP.

cubiczar
04-21-2017, 10:27 AM
So I'm new to p1999 and wanted to roll an Enchanter. Had one back in classic. What would be the best race to go solo? And any advice for the first levels?

I'm thinking Gnome and then soloing until 4 before heading to FP.

If you like gnome to start go with gnome. As far as boons gnomes get tinkering to set them apart from other races but have low cha so dump probably max points into that. The only other race you might look into is dark elf. They get hide as a racial ability which is a nice way to kill charm without using a spell slot.

Other than that there isn't a whole lot of reason to choose one race over the other. Stats can be resolved with gear and you get illusions for fashionquest or vision. So all the races will be fine just pick whatever appeals to you.

Amyas
04-21-2017, 11:24 AM
Gnomelet spend CHA level to 4 then head to orc hill then CB = profit

Izmael
04-21-2017, 01:12 PM
Looks is #1 priority for any class. Play whatever you like the looks of.

If looks don't matter, high elf is the obvious min/maxing choice and it's not even close.

Some will say DE'd racial hide is useful but in reality, it is very rarely used, and after you get Improved Invis, you pretty much never use it.

Ravager
04-21-2017, 02:00 PM
Not only do High Elves get the best starting stats, but they win fashionquest with their cultural chainmail.

Zade
04-21-2017, 02:19 PM
Ive always liked DE enchanters. You can get steins a lot easier IIRC.

loramin
04-21-2017, 02:19 PM
Not only do High Elves get the best starting stats, but they win fashionquest with their cultural chainmail.

Enchanters can wear chainmail?

Cen
04-21-2017, 03:17 PM