PDA

View Full Version : I'm old and need help with the dsetup.dll error

StephenD
01-07-2017, 11:38 PM
I really am old, I'm 71. I have been gaming for at least 16 years and am not a noob.
Not being a noob doesn't mean I can remember how to fix things anymore tho.
I had this problem after the patch before but in my addled mental condition, I don't know what I did to fix it.
I have read threads here on the forum but can't make out what the instructions mean.
So, with that history, please be kind to grandpa and give me detailed instructions on how to get it going again.
Thanks.
BTW, I am the druid Barj that is so kind to port yur bum around so often. <wink>

Rokzor
01-08-2017, 05:13 AM
Most AV programs see dsetup.dll as a threat, so you might wanna check out your quarantine.

Hope that works out for you ;)

khandman
01-08-2017, 07:52 AM
dsetup.dll = big brother ;)

False positive detection and can be added to AV exclusions of the Av suite of your choice.

StephenD
01-09-2017, 09:21 PM
This is what I meant when I said "I have read threads here on the forum but can't make out what the instructions mean."
Your posts tell me that the AV software is blocking me. How do I get it to stop? I have Norton and have disabled and turned stuff off but still get the same error message. I have uninstalled McAffe and still the error. I ran Spybot and cleaned up the spyware and "stuff" and still the error. What else do I need to do?
Try to think of it as giving your grandpa instructions over the phone.

Izmael
01-10-2017, 05:08 AM
Make sure you totally removed the plague known as McAfee from your system. Make sure there's nothing that looks like part of McAfee in the installed program list in your control panel (where you uninstall programs).

Then, install Avast, free edition (https://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download) (or premium if you wanna shell out the money), and set it to "Silent / Gaming mode".

Enjoy a healthy system and P99.

paulgiamatti
01-10-2017, 05:32 AM