PDA

View Full Version : Considering Red

icedwards
06-14-2015, 01:37 PM
Been thinking of starting an alt, and whether or not to roll Red.

I'm leaning towards a Ranger, but would consider a tank class or possibly Wiz. I'm completely new to EQ PVP, and I wouldn't be transferring anything over from blue. I guess my question would be how much of a hassle would each of these choices be starting out, and would I regret any of them in the late game?

Thanks for your help!

Saludeen
06-14-2015, 01:43 PM
Been thinking of starting an alt, and whether or not to roll Red.

I'm leaning towards a Ranger, but would consider a tank class or possibly Wiz. I'm completely new to EQ PVP, and I wouldn't be transferring anything over from blue. I guess my question would be how much of a hassle would each of these choices be starting out, and would I regret any of them in the late game?

Thanks for your help!

Star with a wiz so you can make some money and solo without gear. Or play chanter so you can always get groups and solo well. If you've never pvped then you need to play on red because its way more fun (for most people).

Xaanka
06-14-2015, 03:12 PM
Wizards (along with druids) are the go-to first class for red server. Both classes can get by just fine with zero gear, and both classes are strong farmers. Keep in mind a wizard pretty much requires buying or questing Journeyman Boots while Druid can do fine naked, but that's the only expensive must-have item and wizard can self-farm it. You're always better off making a character that can farm before you roll a melee if you're new on the server. Ranger's one of the cheapest melees to gear on this server though, so it wouldn't be too horrible of a first character.

With the exp bonus, most new wizards I see hit 50 within a week if they're active players, so what's to lose? You'll have a lot more fun on the ranger when you can afford a decent weapon to smack things with.

B4EQWASCOOL
06-14-2015, 03:24 PM