PDA

View Full Version : Client freezing while zoning and other issues

ALLCAPS
02-10-2015, 10:25 PM
I have been playing p99 for a little over a year now and have never had this problem before until I started playing again (after a ~4 month break) and installed the latest spell files.

Nowadays about 10% of the time that I port or zone my client hangs up and freezes entirely. Which leaves me having to exit the client and reboot it. However, sometimes once I log back in my character list is empty, and other times it says my spell files are out of date (they aren't).

That's if I can even log in, because many times my server list is completely blank or I'll even get an error message telling me there is a problem with the log in. It's getting really frustrating considering I am a druid and there has been countless times that I will port someone and freeze up meaning I don't get a tip nor can I give them levitate or whatever else they need.

I have turned off the artwork while zoning but that has done nothing. Is there any suggestions as to what may be causing this? Some people in my guild said they have been having the same issues lately but no one knows a solution.

JickFromTholuxe
02-26-2015, 10:24 PM
+1 !

I have been having this same issue. I got back recently from a hiatus away from P99. Before that, I was playing on a Mac (using the Wineskin method) without any of the OP's issues. Now that I'm back, I've been experiencing the exact issues OP describes but it's the same installation I used before. For me the zoning crash happens about 25% - 50% of the time. When I zone, if I see the loading graphic and the progress bar I know that I will probably make it but sometimes the progress bar disappears (as if it's the final step in the zoning process) and then just hangs indefinitely. Most times I zone and never see a loading screen -- just the frozen picture as I hit the zone line. I have to force kill EQ, re-open it, and wait until the server times me out.