PDA

View Full Version : Charming Animals mana usage

GreldorEQ
01-16-2015, 10:04 PM
Hi all,

I just started learning how to charm animals at lvl 21 and i am enjoying it!

I typically charm a elephant in south karana then kill it and an aviak, rinse and repeat. With about 700 mana i can usually do this twice before getting low or out of mana.

Does this sound about right?

I try to get both mobs to 20%, then hide, snare or root and dd them both dead, just wondering if 4 per mana bar sounds right.

Thanks,

Grelwin, 22 druid

Estu
01-17-2015, 01:09 AM
You might be spending a bit too much mana. Try to get the monsters as low HP as you can without having either one kill the other, so you can use a lower-level DoT to finish them off (DoTs also preferable to nukes since they do more total damage for less mana). Not really any need to snare or root when you're finishing them, either; they should already be fleeing, and slowly because of low HP. Manage aggro between your pet and the other monster so that both are very close to death at the same time; you can use cheap spells like snare and flame lick for this purpose.

GreldorEQ
01-17-2015, 10:32 AM
Should i try for 10% health before i hide? Hiding usually fails on the first attempt, so i normally root mob, pet back off, then hide til it breaks.

With stinging swarm costing 65 mana and careless lighting costing 80(?), i opted for the quicker option to control flee speed without snaring. I'll give dots a try.

Maybe it will just take more practice, or maybe it gets better with 24 spells, but i have trouble keeping the mob up if i allow the elephant to attack much past 20%. Especially if the mob root breaks while I'm trying to hide.

Maybe I'll go start camping that iva ring...

Estu
01-17-2015, 11:05 AM
You could keep Invis vs Animals memmed and cast that if hide fails on the first attempt.

In any case, things will definitely get easier as you level.

GreldorEQ
01-17-2015, 10:21 PM