PDA

View Full Version : Some thoughts from a newcomer

sunmilk
04-09-2014, 11:29 PM
Hello. I'm new to the server and new to project1999 in general. I thought it would be worthwhile documenting some of my thoughts and concerns (as a new player here) regarding issues on red99 that seem to be important to the community at large.

I will start with the basics. This is a *PvP* server which is to suggest that the gross majority of players who play here do so for the player vs. player interaction. Players who are not interested in this feature are likely to play on the other server. While this is completely obvious, it is imperative to note that in order for PvP to exist, players need to exist. As you might imagine, the amount of PvP interaction on a server with population of 200 is likely to be nearly double the amount of PvP interaction on a server (with same rulesets, etc) with population 100. This is to say there is a positive, causal relationship between the population of a server and how much interaction there is between its players (pvp included).

A server with a low population is destined to have low player interaction by virtue of numbers alone. What this means is that more people are forced to solo (which we all know is absolutely abyssmal for the majority of classes in this game), and rely on their own means for progressing throughout the game. Definitely way more punishing in the group-centric game of Everquest relative to any somewhat recent MMO (or version of Everquest). What this also means, is that when you do happen to encounter someone in range of you while leveling up... you are less inclined to even attack them because they are one of literally a dozen people on the server in your level range... In other words, by choosing to pvp you forego your rare opportunity to group and progress with other people on the server.