PDA

View Full Version : Pets & Experience

Mist
03-19-2014, 06:18 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to this server and I wanted to talk briefly about pets and experience. I was curious if the requirement to do more than 50% of damage over your pet to receive full experience was ever part of live? As it stands right now, I can't even out damage my pet against certain cons spamming my best nuke. That's not even mentioning that I'll run out of mana extremely fast that way. If this is custom code (because as I remember it you only had to do one point of damage) would it be possible to have the damage requirement reduced to something more reasonable?

Swish
03-19-2014, 06:45 AM
They're patching in line with what happened on Live as far as possible, I could try and dig through the patch notes to find the change but it'll be there somewhere. When that got patched in the mage population tanked quite considerably :p

If you're a necro, pull the pet off at 20% or so and let your dots do the rest of the damage.

If you're a mage, I've seen mages reclaim their pet when the mob is at 10% or so, and then finish with a nuke. You'll need a lot of malachite etc but that's the way around it.

(or duo/group, the 50% doesn't factor in unless you're solo)

Flunker
03-19-2014, 06:48 AM
hiho,

just don't mind and don't try to outdamage ur Pet.

I play a magician, so it may differ with other pet classes, BUT
I will tell you, how I play:

I do minimal damage to any mob, lvl 1 nuke so pet does max aggro and i can sit as soon as possible to med.
I heal the pet, sitting between casts to get max mana refresh.

When ur pet takes to much damage u can jump in ith a nuke or 2, or take some hits going into melee range.

This way the pet will smack alot of mobs, before I need a break. With breeze or clarity there is no pause at all, other then a lack of mobs.

I am also playing a shaman and a druid. Both have much more downtime, even duoing is slower then soloing the mage.