PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of Starting a Wizard

ldunver
01-31-2014, 11:03 AM
So, I started a monk, but I am also thinking of starting a wizard to group with my two friends. They seem to get a really bad rep. Is it just due to them not being very solo efficient solos? Or what?

I am looking to get into them, cause they seem useful for raids, but I am curious as to people's opinions. I am new to this server so twinking isn't really possible either.

Exmo
01-31-2014, 12:09 PM
The bad rep Wizards have is that they are good burst DPS, but pretty shitty exp group dps. In order to not go oom, they can only cast 1 nuke per fight basically, so you wind up not doing much damage compared to say a rogue or even a mage (Pets help a lot).

Also, Wizards need to constantly med means it looks like they AFK a lot, even if they don't.

But, they are tons of fun in raids if you like seeing big numbers.

ldunver
01-31-2014, 12:10 PM
So it might be better to role an enchanter or something? Just the feedback from the people on the forums seems pretty negative.

Exmo
01-31-2014, 12:12 PM
Play what you want to play. Just be aware those choices come with play style differences. Enchanters can almost always find groups, and if they can't, they can charm solo. Wizards will have trouble finding groups but 29+ can Quad Kite for Exp.

They are just different and fulfill different roles. Play what you enjoy. If you want to do DPS and port and throw up big numbers, roll a wizard. If you want to buff, charm, etc. roll a chanter.

Raavak
01-31-2014, 12:14 PM
Wizards are pretty much forced to solo. They do pretty good at quading, but its a lonely life.

Swish
01-31-2014, 12:22 PM
Netflix your way to 60, do it the wizard way :p

Rhambuk
01-31-2014, 12:57 PM

going through trailer park boys for the second time leveling my wizard.

I get groups without much issue for the most part, only 23 right now though. having the option to solo when there are no groups is nice though.

Swish