PDA

View Full Version : First melee in EQ

Wulvgeng
01-07-2014, 04:42 PM
Hello all,

I Just started in this game as a Dwarf Warrior. I played all casters back in classic so I am very very new to a melee class and am limited on funds, so cant go out and spend a bunch of money on gears/weapons at the moment. Have a few questions:

Question 1) which is better as a lowbie warrior...2h slashing or 1h and a shield? If I go 1hand slashing which is more important at a low level, damage or delay? I ended up looting one of the Battle Axes off of the corpses of Kaladim Guards (a friendly necro was killing for exp).

Question 2) is it better to go for experience and get as high as I can or should I take time to do armor quests and camp drops? As a lowbie, does AC matter enough to take time out of normal leveling to get drops I guess is what I am asking

Question 3) difference between bash and kick at low levels? Is one preferable over the other?

Thanks in advance for your input.

Rhambuk
01-07-2014, 05:06 PM
Welcome to the melee world, it is far far far more complicated than people make it out to be, attack on wait kick wait taunt wait mob dead...

ill just answer your questions for now )

1, 1h always as a warrior you will only use 2h for dps when not tanking. you always want the highest ratio weapon delay/dmg but with a 1h you should be swinging at least once per round'
you swing
mob swing
you swing
mob swing

that axe will be the best thing you have for a while unless someone donates something.

2, as a melee you are 100% gear dependent so it is important that you do your crafted armor quests when you can 30ish without much help. HP > AC in lower levels

3, kick will do more damage than bash and doesn't require a shield, you may see some warriors switching out offhand to shieldbash only to interrupt casting mobs as it is an instant stun, but at 55 kick adds a stun component.

extras.