PDA

View Full Version : Question about Necro/Druid Charming

Hiyodori
12-21-2013, 07:14 PM
I am quite new to this server and the game (about one month on this server and only played for a very short duration a long time ago) so I have quite a few questions in regards to the game.

My question for this post is in regards to charming creatures for druids (animals) and necromancers (undead).

I have done a lot of internet searches going through many old conversations of EQ players debating whether charisma played a roll charming spells for all the classes and also whether it played a roll for druids and necromancers. Here is the basic conclusion that I have come to in regards to Everquest players not from P1999 but 10 years ago in Everquest Live.

The order of importance in charming is Creature Level>MR>Charisma, which is also the order they seem to be checked in.

Enchanters and Bards definately seem to check charisma when charming creatures. From individual testing, it seemed to have a SIGNIFIGANT effect on the initial charm spell landing or not. One test showed that charm was resisted 0% of the time with high charisma and 32% with low charisma, but in regards to duration only seemed to extend the charm about 11% longer.

With respect to druids, one individuals testing showed that high charisma made the duration of the charms last about 7.5% longer than with low charisma. Unfortunately, this study did not mention anything about initial resists or not. The conclusion here was that charisma did play a role, but not as big of one as it did for enchanters and bards. This would coincide with what developers at the time said, which was they didn't expect necromancers to be very charismatic so the affect of the attribute would be less for their charms than that of enchanters.

I could not find any necromancer studies that actually listed data. Only claims from posters.