PDA

View Full Version : Newbie need help

spazz12
07-24-2013, 07:56 AM
Hi everyone!

First off I have to start with that I'm really enjoying my experience with the game so far (played 10-15 mins) the problem however that I am currently facing is that I have no clue how to do some particular things and I've scimmed through the forums here and google and so forth and not found the answer to my questions.

Reason for this is that a lot of guides mentions progression and other neat details which are very helpful and informative but unfortunately I never played Everquest ever before. I started playing MMORPGs by playing City of Heroes and then ventured on from there.

The problem I'm having atm is I rolled a mage as my first character and a Erudite at that. I have turned in the letter you get to the NPC and visited the jailer and spoken to him about the Heretic quest.

Now I've run outside the starting city and into the forest where there is snakes, skeletons and a lot of kobolder. Here I have found that I have the easiest time fighting snakes for now, trying to improve my first fire skill and melee combat however I am clueless to how I get a pet for instance.
All guides, wikis etc I've come across so far mention these pets but none of them actually explains how one obtains one and since I am from the hand-held MMORPG generation I might have more issue then others to find these things out.

I love the exploration part and that you don't have quest pointers, maps and other things like todays theme-park MMORPGS and I have no problem with searching the interwebz for answers but I've found nothing actually explaining how you get your first pet and how you start to earn money/which npc in my starting area you can turn in things for for money.
So far I've only have spent 1 skill point into sense heading and saved the otehr 4 for later since I read somewhere that was the way to do it (I am still at lvl 1)