PDA

View Full Version : Low and Mid Level Warrior agro

Mazeri
07-19-2013, 11:21 PM
Hi all,

I am still very new to p99 and had a quick question. I really like the idea of duel wielding as a Melee so war is at the top of my list when looking at the tank classes. My only concern is not being able to hold agro in groups in the low and mid levels. Is agro really as bad as people say it is when compared to an sk or pally? With a small amount of twinking can this problem be solved?

Thanks in advance!

kaev
07-20-2013, 02:31 AM
Yeah, it's an issue for Warrior...

So many twinked Rogues and Monks out there, hell so many twinked everything out there. Very little disciplined play, because so many chars are so overgeared that until you're 40+ often the only "penalty" for all-out attack all the time is maybe getting bitched at by a lazy healer. (Well, people do manage to wipe in Mistmoore at L30+ despite being absurdly overgeared, mostly because they haven't had to actually start playing half-competently until then and it takes time to get used to it.)

Agro is just tough for a Warrior on p99 until you've got a haste item and good weapons. Even then there'll be groups that overwhelm content with gear 10-15 levels higher than anything they could possibly earn, and so the Monks and Rogues (and Shamans) won't bother to play very disciplined and will draw a lot of unnecessary agro (it's hard, very hard, to feign or evade or wait a few seconds to slow, don'tcha know...)

Dual wield, btw, definitely appears to be the correct way to go for agro from my experience. Even without agro procs dual wield appears to produce noticeably more agro with less damage output than using a 2hander.